On the state of creative union


Recently, I ran an ad on Craigslist looking for some help with designing printed promos and other minutiae of that sort. So I placed an ad for graphics designer and left off to attend to some other errands of the moment. Deep down, I was hoping to get a few replies form the undegrad students and was bracing for working with kids who just learned Photoshop in the last semester class.

Little did I know.

In about six hours, my mailbox was ready to bust in seams. Amongst over forty submissions, the majority were from the people who I wold consider the “black belt” level – people who have been there and done that, who worked for the who is who in the field and had been on the billboards, posters, CA annuals and so forth. People who managed marketing teams for well known companies; people who directed branding efforts for movies; people who designed the web sites we see every day… The list can go on. At this point, I had to pull the ad down and take a deep breath.

This exercise opened my eyes in many ways – it showed me how it feels to be on the other side of the email chain. Face it, it’s not every day that we get to be in the buyer seat so every glimpse of experience is golden. Now I know how my emails appear to the potential buyers – a great lesson I would not have otherwise.

It also was quite discomforting to see that despite all the years of experience and great work to show, these people have to bask on Craigslist and the like… And I thought photographers were the last ones on the food chain…

Leave a Reply

